Someone asked me a question if the File menu > show history command could be restricted to show only certain parts of the saved history of the RVT project. Typically a Revit project keeps the history of all the saves along with the comments (if any). Here is chart that shows the RVT behavior in various scenarios.
|File type||Show History||Backups|
|Central File||All STC info since its beginning||No of backups based on the number entered while doing the first save as. (default 20)|
|Local File||All STC and local save info since its beginning||ditto|
|“detach from central” option while opening a file||copies history from original file||all backups lost from original|
|“save as”||Retains only STC history info.||all backups lost from original|
|“save as” with “Make this a central file after save” option||Loses all history||all backups lost from original|